New Beginnings

Well, the last friend who’d been staying with my family has moved out completely. Our house feels empty once again, but that is as it should be. I was greeted this morning by the two cats my mother adopted, and my husband was left still getting ready for work. I saw the temperature went up to a more comfortable level, and I was able to get to work early, and be ready on time.

This year, they say, is to be of new beginnings; well, it’s proving true so far. Today, not only will I be able to get back into the routines I had before everything went chaotic a few months ago, but I will also have the chance to go back to the gym after work, and have the time to spend relaxing with family.

The house needs some TLC, and so does my marriage, so to speak. With everything that has gone on, others were my focus. But now, it’s on the matters within my small home circle. Planning for another move will begin soon, changes in insurance, changes in income, and changes in my ways of handling things in the future.

My New Years agenda consists of losing inches, not weight, finding a home (for both my husband and I as well as my mother), and a new schedule for me on my own extra-curricular activities. My husband and I will finally have a home to call our own, and so will my mother. We all will be moving on from connections to the past, and will come out strong by the end of this year.

I also plan to stay away from politics here on the blog, as I’ve noticed the focus tends to stick more toward the emotional/everyday writings, and I’m thankful for that, as it’s not easy for me to come up with a good political piece that speaks to everyone here. I would rather focus on being encouraging, than down in the nitty gritty of what brings us strife everyday.

So, those are my goals that will bring about New Beginnings for my family and I, as my friends have already started theirs. I’m the type of person who takes care of family and friends first, and then takes care of myself. I know, it should be the other way around, but that’s not how I roll.

Either way, that is where I’m going. Not a poetic post this morning, but a fresh new start and outlook, that’s for sure.

Leave a Reply

