Freedoms Awarded, and Freedoms Taken

Well, it’s done, my friend acted, and she is now free. It was very stressful to say the least, but well worth it. I got a glimpse into what was really going on behind the scenes, and I am glad that I was there to help support my friend through her fight for freedom.

She and I brought backup, and requested she be allowed to get her belongings. Needless to say, we both were scared, as we had never done anything of a sort before, though I had heard stories about what is legal, and how to handle situations of this sort, and it worked. We were not able to get her legal documents, as the cops said a warrant was needed, but we decided not to fight, and to leave peacefully instead.

We showed the cops what was really going on, and now the authorities know the situation. I was grilled by them, of course, but didn’t buckle. Yesterday, was surreal, as I felt like I was truly saving someone. She couldn’t take it anymore, and it was an honor being her ride to freedom, once and for all.

Often times, after freedoms are awarded, they can be taken for granted. Now, we will see them thin out, and disappear. It’s scary when you think about it all, that each morning could be devastating to someone, where something passed in the House/Senate that could change a person’s life forever.

I worry about my family, my friends, and those I call family. However, faith needs to be applied in the sense that we need to remember that things are beginning to happen, but a little slower than we’d like. Sure, the Women’s March made headlines, and showed around the world that women are not taking this lying down, but is it enough? For me, if I noticed my administration was corrupt to the core, I would have acted immediately, saying, “The people have spoken.”

However, we’re witnessing the administration’s response to our protests, and it’s looking like their response is to ignore the voices that span across the globe, as if they think the protests will fizzle out, and end eventually. Will they? That’s the question. We’re witnessing the craziest numbers rise on actions people are taking in history, and it seems to not even make a wave in the calm expression the administration is giving off.

Among all the strife growing in our country, and around the world, one light just grew in the darkness, and I’m glad to see that light shining and flickering brightly, as it was once dimmed due to loss of air, and strength. No matter what happens, I’m not giving up. I will remain someone who will help bring strength to others, and will help keep flames lit brightly, because they are what we need in these dark times.

Leave a Reply

