Who Are You?

Have any of you recently come across the situation where someone you thought, or believed deep down in your heart, that you knew someone you are related to, or close friends with, who just suddenly switched their tune all of a sudden, and then spouted lies or ideals that you never knew existed in their hearts? I have.

I lost a friend this last summer, and now an aunt that has gone this route, and is surprising my family at every turn now. I have no idea where these ideals about racism and bigotry have come from, and never imagined these thoughts could exist in the heart of such a sweet woman, but apparently, they are most certainly there.

I’ve read that a lot of people these days are losing family members due to conflicts in ideals, and feelings on racism, and immigration. Our country has been turned up on it’s head, but we’re not focusing on how this last election has effected individual families. Some don’t even recognize their family members anymore.

How does this sort of thing happen? I would really like to know. I am watching my mother cry over her sister telling lies to everyone she has contact with regarding things going on in my mother’s house, which is none of her business, but people are perplexed on why my aunt feels it’s their business.

I had apparently made a terrible assumption; that my aunt and everyone I know knew my intentions with my mother. I have been, and always will be, helping my mother; for the past 16 years, and more, my husband and I have given money to my parents to help them keep their expensive ranch mortgage by paying them rent and helping them with utilities. My aunt has been saying I’m trying to steal the house from my mother, sell it, and then slam her in a nursing home.

That was never an option in my book. Sure, I wasn’t planning on keeping my mother with me, as she is a senior citizen, and she needs an environment without stairs, and is not so spacious so she has less to take care of. She wants to simplify her life, and wants a new environment where she can enjoy her retirement years. She wants to be around friends, and not worry about being alone in a big, huge house. Is that so bad? Apparently to my aunt, it is.

enough from my situation, has anyone else gone through anything like this at all? How bad has it been? It’s sickening how people are turning on each other all of a sudden, and I’m noticing more Narcissists popping up everywhere. Can a mental or psychological disorder become an epidemic? It makes me worried because I feel like I’m surrounded by people who are plagued by those with that disorder. How do things like this happen? Is it really only Tuesday? It feels like over a month has gone by, but it’s only been a week and a half, or so, since our country started down this destructive path. I certainly hope I’m not alone in seeing these patterns and changes, as I feel like I’m living in the Twilight Zone.

Leave a Reply

