The Woes of A Linear Thinker Swimming in the Ocean

It’s no secret that I am a linear thinker; I have stated it in previous blog posts, and it will never change. Being a receptionist at a very busy front desk, in a high-traffic foyer, makes it difficult to focus when I feel as if I’m lounging on the beach with the surf slipping up the sand and over my body whenever it wants while I’m trying to catch some rays.

Anyone in customer service knows they’re at the mercy of the ocean; they have no clue when the next call will come in, when the next customer will walk in, or when five people will suddenly want their attention for five different things at once.

However, from the perspective of a linear person, whenever I get deeply entranced in a project, and the phone keeps ringing with people calling the wrong number, and co-workers need conference rooms scheduled, need pens, pencils and notepads, I can feel a bit frustrated, and forget what I was originally working on.

Being linear is great for writers, in the sense that I can put on my favorite playlist and write away for hours without realizing it’s been that long. That is what makes a writer contented above all else. I used to have a job where I could lose myself in music while doing it into the late evening hours. However, that job no longer exists because I worked myself out of it.

What are great jobs for folks who are linear? Let me see… That’s a hard one, as just about every company out there today is cutting corners somewhere. Writing is what makes me tick, and I want more than anything to write blogs like this all day, every day. I would love for this to be all I do all day, aside from writing my novel, but I would certainly save that for writing at night.

I am a night owl, who wishes I didn’t have to report to work for a boss. An agent is one thing, meeting quotas sounds more challenging and fun. Being a paid slave, on the other hand? It’s too bad I need social security points to retire. Or should I not retire? Hmm… As a writer, who says I have to? I could write well into my eighties! Hmm… Food for thought.

As far as my husband, he’s decided not to retire, which is wonderful. He is the type who wants to give back what was given to him, and knows that he has a lot to offer a lot of people. I am so proud of him, and he has been doing well in his career so far.

For me, he wants to see me write and publish my first novel. I have had one idea after another, after another fall through on novel plot-lines, and it gets frustrating that life happens to get in the way, and I can’t get myself back into the realm I was in while writing it. I had two ideas fall by the wayside on that account, and I guess that’s why writers call writing their novels their job.

I look forward to being able to use that title, permanently, but that won’t come for another few years, at least. However, as long as I get my writing in, here on this blog, I think I will survive.

As for other linear thinkers out there, I can’t really, necessarily, speak for them, but I do know that I feel their pain whenever they get overwhelmed by demanding people. I know that my having tons of phone calls in one hour is what keeps me working, and most good workers call that job security; however, to a sensitive, that can be an hour of hell.

I can’t tell you how often I wish I could be like my best friend who can multitask with the best of them, and still remain sane. Me, on the other hand, if I start up on something, give me time, or I will prioritize, and finish the one item first that you wanted finished last.

 

Leave a Reply

